A friend pointed to a video showing a NEW hop up technic

afleetcommand

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
12:59 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
LESS compression. Of course I hate generalities, and as an operator I can make a saw look faster or slower with technic or chain grinds...
But here is quantitative therefore absolute proof of why more compression doesn't help or by extension lower compression makes for a faster saw :)

davidwyby

Tree felling enthusiast, 288 collector
GoldMember
Local time
9:59 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I only watched the short compare in the wood part.

I’m willing to bet @Red97 can show more tq with compression.

I also bet that in a felling situation the higher compression results in more forgiveness for being heavy handed on the dogs. Low rpm grunt.

In a 4 stroke engine, if you increase air flow and don’t increase compression, you lose bottom end/throttle response.

Also I think he used a popup piston which may hurt perf (air flow) and negate the compression, for speed anyway.

Stump Shot

Disciple of Monkey's
GoldMember
Local time
11:59 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
He can quantitate all he likes, however, JUST the compression isn't the only thing that changes when installing a pop-up piston, the flow characteristics of the upper transfers are also altered, changing the efficiency of the loop scavenging effect. Mostly in the primary clearing of spent gasses from the top of the piston. It doesn't take a big imagination to imagine this especially after seeing wash patterns pop-ups create or the power created that never impressed me and is why I don't mess with them, as flat tops so better(here's your sign)
If you're going to make a decision about compression a better test should be devised, that's all I'm saying here, then going from a flat top to a pop-up, there's more going on than reading a gauge.